The Dilemma


 

On Dec. 4 (Sunday) I was told that my car was hit into by a family friend. The family friend had to pick up a member of the household I live with who had to go to the airport. It was 7 a.m. (as I happened to be sleeping around that time) that the family friend came and as they were backing out the driveway, they had sided right into the side of my car, which was parked as far to the side of the driveway as possible, leaving enough space (or so I thought) for another car to easily pass through. The hit left a very unnoticeable dent (from far away until you’re close up) with visible scratches.

Later that day, I got the news of the accident. I went to check it out and was (I’ll be honest) upset. The relative I live with (and who witnessed the accident) came back from the trip and has not said a word to me about it, neither have I received communication from the family friend who hit my car.

The dilemma is the culprit is a family friend, should I overlook the mishap and think nothing of it? My car is gray so the mark is not that visible, but at the same time if I wanted to sell the car I’d be the one paying for the cost of that mark. My question is: What should I do?

 

2 comments

  1. Dionne · December 9, 2011

    Hi!
    Been meaning to email you for the longest time!
    Sorry to hear about this incident. And it happened on my son’s birthday, too😦

    Anyway, I do believe that you should approach the family friend or at least the person you live with, about the incident.
    Let them know that you plan to get it sanded out/ epoxy or whatever (which you should, because with winter coming along, the state will soon be salting the roads… And that salt needs little more than a gentle invitation to infiltrate your car’s paint and rust it from inside come out), and would like to know if the driver would be able to (help) pay for the job to be done.

    I think it’s terrible no one has said anything to you. But maybe, one thought the other did, and now they believe it’s too late to say anything to you, especially if you have said nothing.

    So, in my opinion, to save your asset, you should say something. Handle it as amiably as possible, cos the last thing you want is to chrun up bad blood, at Christmas, over a dent, and a few scratches, from driving in “darkness”.

    Good luck! With Whatever you decide to do.
    But do get the scratches epoxied or whatever it is they do for scratches. You may even be able to go to AutoZone or WalMart Auto and ask them to suggest a quick fix. And that’s all you need if the dent isn’t noticeable. One of your friends could even hit out the dent! But check AutoZone🙂

    I’ll link you again soon. Under non-dilemma circumstances!

    Take care.
    And tell the family hello for me!

    Best,
    ~Dionne~

  2. faithlooksup · December 11, 2011

    D, thanks for replying. Hope your son’s birthday went well. Yesterday the family member I live with volunteered sharing how the accident occurred. They even went over and beyond to say they’ll cover all the costs of the damage. I was more relieved than anything and happy to know I do have family that deeply cares. (The family friend, however, still has not communicated to me to apologize for the accident.)

Leave a Reply

