What I learned after “Irene”


  When Irene passed over NY, my family and I were left without power for six days. That meant no electricity and no hot water. After we got the power back, I learned a few things:

  • It’s okay to take a break from “online” when being “offline is as productive. With no access to the Internet, I felt unproductive. I couldn’t get access to e-mail, view videos, or social network. Without those things for six days, I took to reading and found myself enjoying it.
  • Adjust your feeding routine. Without power, meant no stove, no microwave, no oven, nothing to cook on but used the grill to cook or warm up food. That only lasted for awhile until we started driving into town to get good, hearty meals (meaning, Chinese takeouts).
  • Time with family skyrocketed. Every evening I came home after work into the dark, my family and I huddled in the living room to talk. That’s all we did, but I was engaging in discussion and having a good time.
  • My sleeping habits became easier. My neighborhood was so peaceful and quiet that you could hear the crickets talk, but despite the darkness I had wonderful rest and actually slept better.
  • Get a generator. Didn’t realize that until our lights went out.
  • Cold water became my enemy. Ohh, I disliked taking baths in the cold water…worse, I was getting over a cold, so you could imagine my fear, but as they say “when the going gets tough, the tough get going.”
  • I began to experience what my parents went through in their early years. When I think back to the days of my dad, his experiences were far intense. At times, he had to go to a lake to bathe, and to use the toilet he had to go outside, and sometimes his siblings (of eight) would have to sleep on one bed.
  • I am privileged and blessed to have the things I have. I don’t always realize it, but I am a rich person. Meaning, I have running water, I have a fridge to keep my food fresh, I flick on a switch for light, I have a car for transport, and a thermostat to keep the place cool or warm. Some people don’t have those things and I feel blessed that I do.

Irene left an impression those six days, and though I count my blessings there are some people who still don’t have power. My thoughts and prayers go out to them. It’s one thing to have a home and then another thing to lose it to mother nature. I just hope another hurricane doesn’t come to NY again. If it does, I’ll be ready.

2 comments

  1. gcampanale · September 8, 2011

    Totally feel you girl!

  2. Slamdunk · October 17, 2011

    Thanks for the kind comment the other day Kimi.

    Sorry to hear that Irene was such a challenge for you all. Our town was hit hard as well, but the floodwaters stopped 5 feet from our porch. We just had no water for a week or so.

    Your list is full of wisdom–certainly we should count our Blessings.

Leave a Reply

