My Year in Review


It’s the Christmas weekend and I’m amazed at how fast it’s come.

A lot happened to me this year, which I’ll briefly recap:

  • January – left my job to pursue a career interest
  • February – couldn’t get unemployment benefits b/c of my voluntary leave, so I had to depend on savings.
  • March – Began my first interview with an Advertising Agency, but something told me to move on.
  • April through July – Got couple more interviews but either I was rejected or I didn’t like what I observed.
  • July and August – Babysat and kept job searching.
  • September – I celebrate another year of life, but no birthday party : (
  • October – landed a job! YEAH!
  • November – Counted my blessings and enjoyed the food for Thanksgiving. (I usually end up washing the dishes.)
  • December – Got accepted into OT School, but am considering Law School instead. I even earned a volunteer opportunity with a wonderful PR team at a hospital.

Now, that 2011 is a few days away, I’m not sure I’m ready for it. 2010 has left me going through so many disappointments and frustrations I feel like 2011 might be just the same. There were times throughout this year I didn’t know how I’d pull through it all BUT my faith in God kept me going. Any time I hear people say, “I hate my job!” or “Is it Friday already?” I’m like, “Don’t you people know how blessed you are to have a job?” STOP COMPLAINING! I’ve been through unemployment for a few months and have been blessed to find something and KEEP IT!

This Christmas holiday is another reminder of how blessed we are to have jobs, families, and the necessary things that keep us holding on to life. If you’re reading and don’t have a job right now, one advice I’ll give you is DON’T GIVE UP! It’s easy to become complacent and give up after rejection, after rejection, but believe me when I say “keep trying” – you’re bound to find something.

Thank you again to Jesus, to my family, to my friends, and esp. my blog readers. As I write this, I just wanted to share this: “Yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery, but today is a gift, that’s why it’s called the present.” Cherish each day you have going into 2011 and beyond and I pray that many successes and blessings come upon you.

NOTE: As I was writing, my pent up frustrations (esp. in the first paragraph) began to be expressed. If there’s anything you got from this piece, which will be my last for 2010, you can be sure to expect more in 2011—real, expressive blog pieces : ).

2 comments

  1. parthidreamz · December 29, 2010

    Hey it felt really good after reading your blog! Nice one.
    Wish you a Happy 2011.

    • faithlooksup · December 29, 2010

      Thanks! Glad to make your day🙂. Happy 2011 as it comes to you too.

Leave a Reply

