The Film “Conviction” and My Two Points from It


I watched Larry King Live yesterday and I said to myself, “I want to go see that movie.” See trailer below. 

Two things I want to write about after watching the program: (1) Family and (2) Judgment.

It makes me think about what family really means. I’m not focusing on the make-up or structure of a family, but the bind, the molecule, the atom that keeps a family together. I never faced (nor do I want to face )the hard reality of time in prison or was sentenced for a crime to which I did not commit, but my family has always been there for me in other ways. On countless times my parents helped me out, especially with speeding tickets or the sacrifice of putting me through college, and though I might not have understood it then, I understand it now, family is worth sacrificing for.

Sadly, I am aware that not all families grow up with support or encouragment or love, but instead with dominance, abuse, and aggression. I wish in my heart every child grew up in a loving home, maybe this world would be a better and safer place. I am convinced though that the most important ingredient of a healthy family is love or where love abounds. Some people I realize will never understand what that word means because they grew up not feeling it or it being shown to them in the right way. I have my family to thank, because of my upbringing, I understand the love of family and try to show it to others. I always believe, a little love goes a long way. Reverting back to the film, I keep thinking, it must have been really hard for a sister to willfully defend her brother, when everyone was against him. That’s simply, self-sacrificing love.

Second point is, it concerns me that people are finding it too easy to pass judgment on others. In the movie Conviction that was discussed on Larry King, the guy who is sent to prison had tendencies for aggression, and because of that the police thought he could’ve committed the murder and without securing the facts or getting a DNA test, the guy is put in jail for life. Throughout the film, the viewer is taken through a series of events that will broaden the narrow perspective of that judgment into a much broader lens. Yet, it happens all the time, we judge before we see all the facts. Why are we prone to such instinct? 

I don’t believe this world will get any better, but only worse, yet I truly believe in my heart that though judgments are being made constantly through the year and years to come, it is up to us to make sure we pass on goodness and objectivity so that it lives on. The key to passing those on is having the power to DO IT, even if we stand alone.

I don’t know why I just wrote that, but I am convinced that life is so precious and we should treasure each moment we have with our families now and remember not to pass on judgment so quickly that we isolate the facts. This world might not be a better place, but at least we can try to make it better starting with family. After thinking about it, I think my formula for family will be: Love + Objectivity + Sacrifice = Family.

By the way, the movie comes out in theaters October 15.

2 comments

  1. slamdunk · October 11, 2010

    It looks interesting.

    “…but I am convinced that life is so precious and we should treasure each moment we have with our families now and remember not to pass on judgment so quickly that we isolate the facts.”

    Great line. Having grown-up with a supportive family it amazed and saddened me that so many others that I met did not have the same foundation. It is something that I certainly want to show my children.

    • faithlooksup · October 11, 2010

      Ghandi once said, “Be the change you want to see made happen in this world.” I realize I CAN help others and the little I can do begins with my family, my friends, and that influence leaves a ripple effect. Thanks for commenting.

Leave a Reply

