My 80-year-old friend


For the sake of privacy, I’ll call my new found friend, Jane.

She’s 80 and has six great-grand children.

I met her while serving as an inspector during the primaries, held a few weeks ago. Our shift started from 5 in the morning and ended till 10 in the evening. But seated next to her made the day go by so fast. We must have talked about everything: from the new machines and ballots used, love, work, young people, life as a whole. I think I learned more from her than I did with any senior citizen.

A couple of things I learned from Jane:

  • Laugh often.
  • Life is too short to groan and complain.
  • Every minute counts so make the most of it.
  • Don’t hold back. Take action when your intuition tells you.
  • Socialize and keep good close friends. The time will come when you’ll appreciate having them around.
  • Love among humans comes and goes, but love in God is always forever.
  • Read books and when you’re tired of reading, keep reading. Your brain will thank you.
  • Don’t change or alter your body just to enhance your beauty, your natural self is more beautiful than you know.
  • When times are hard, lean on God. You’ll soon realize He’s the only one around whose shoulder you can do that on.
  • Never give up.
  • Travel when you can.

Jane and I stay in touch and call each other every week. I never thought bumping into an 80-year-old woman would have an impact on me, but it has. I thought I had friends of all ages, but Jane beat the cake and it’s truly a joy having her for a friend. I don’t think I’ll ever reach her age and be fortunate to have six great-grand children, but I realize one can never be too young or too old to establish friendships, it’s up to me though to reach out and befriend. The impact could be surprisingly wonderful.

2 comments

  1. Leslie · September 28, 2010

    That’s one wise lady. If we were to really take that advice, this world would be a better place. That’s pretty cool though – having a friend of that age. There’s a lot we can learn from people who’ve been here much longer than we have.

    I’ll be looking for your next post. It’s nice to know what’s going on with you sis🙂

Leave a Reply

