Hidden Talents


“Some people were born with greatness, some have greatness thrust upon them,” so said the Theodore Roosevelt character played by Robin Williams in Night at the Museum.

Ever digged real deep into your soul and figured out what makes you stand out from the rest? Sometimes people have a hard time figuring out what they’re good at and it takes them years, others know right away or were born being told that they were destined with a certain skill and they perfect it as they grow.

Talents are implanted in everyone of us, we just have to tap into it.

Last Sunday, my church organized a Health Fair in the Queens borough. There were so many assortment of products: pineapples, mangoes, soy shakes, water, oranges, cherries, Noni juices, even horsebackriding for kids and Tae-Bo classes for adults. There was also a medical team taking blood pressures and a blood drive.

Before the fair began, I was asked to design a banner. Being budget conscious, I skipped getting a high-end and costly banner and decided to use lots of colored assortments of poster boards. My creativity kicked in on ideas to do the banner, but wanted to capture the health message as it relates to our church’s values (which is a vegetarian diet). I decided to portray the image of a basket filled with all sorts of fruits, vegies, grains, etc. and place that basket on an open green field as it basked under the rays of the sun. (Remember now, this was all made from poster boards.) Below is the result.

It took four days to work on the basket and fruits and four hours to do the meadow and the sun. We spent less than $30 on poster boards.

Months prior, selected leaders were chosen to handle booths. I was chosen to lead one group and was put in charge of selling: pineapples, mangoes, and coconuts. We would also be critiqued and judged as to the presentation of our booths. I worked with two other people. Though we scurried around trying to get all the props and fruits for the day of the fair, we couldn’t have been happier with how everything turned out.

From the picture, you can see how close we were to other booths, so we had limited space, but we used what we had. Everyone who stopped by our booth remarked how it reminded them of being on an island, which was our purpose. We called it “Island Fruit Garden.” As added bonus to our customers, we provided a sheet filled with health benefits and a recipe that included the fruits sold. Our team won first place for the booth and we raised over $200.

I must confess, I didn’t volunteer for the job because I doubted if I could lead a team. But the assurance from my team members combined with the effort and time put in from everyone was outstanding. Our team worked tirelessly to make sure we didn’t skip any detail and I am ever so grateful for the teamwork.

If it wasn’t for the event coordinator realizing my talent, I wouldn’t have been able to showcase what my creativity could do. I am also truly thankful to the coordinator for tapping into my talent box and bringing me out of  my doubting zone. Sometimes it takes another to build another person up.

Some were born with greatness and others with greatness thrust upon them. Don’t let doubt overpower what you know you can do. One can never tell what inspiration they can bring to others if they just decided to get out of their comfort zone and get the job done. I know it’s easier said than done, but at least trying is better than not doing anything.

If you could inspire others using your talents, what would it be?

6 comments

  1. June Smith · May 27, 2010

    Kimi, I am inspired. That was a great story. Yes, so many people give up because they doubt themselves. Yes many talents are itching inside so many, waiting to be tapped. Keep up the good work…you are an amazing young woman, by precepts and example. You need to mentor other girls. Tap into your talents and think outside the box…you are multidimentional. Blessings!

    • faithlooksup · May 27, 2010

      Thank you! I remember the classes I spoke with about communications, their faces took in my every word. There was one little girl in particular who asked a lot of questions about the field. Oh, the joy I felt when I knew she learned something new. It truly is rewarding to know one doesn’t have to travel outside of America to help someone, but in our own backyard.

  2. Kimi · May 27, 2010

    That is absolutely amazing talent, I witnessed both events and saw the joy on your face as you received that trophy. Keep on using that talent that is no longer hidden. Your story can help to inspire others. Success in the future. (Witness)

    • faithlooksup · May 27, 2010

      Thank you, but I wish I knew who to send my appreciation to. Well, whomever you are you too can inspire someone with your talents. No one else will know you possess your talent until you showcase it. Many blessings to you.

  3. Slamdunk · June 2, 2010

    Fantastic work with the banner–it shows all the long hours that you invested into it. Nicely done.

Leave a Reply

